Dear Nia,

Yesterday I went to the doctor in hopes that he would tell me they were going to induce labor…the past few weeks have been rough ones.  I have developed a rash (called PUPPP) all over my belly and ankles.  The only thing that will make it go away is giving birth to you…and you haven’t been showing any signs of coming out.  Some think that the cause of this rash is your DNA attacking mine…you’re ATTACKING ME!  I mean, I know that mothers and daughters sometimes butt heads, but really…could you at least wait until you’re a teenager?  This, along with the constant heartbearn and the fact that you are over eight pounds now is making it very difficult to not want to reach in and pull you out myself.

There is hope, however.  At the appointment yesterday, the doctor stripped my membranes.  Yes, it was as awful as it sounds…he separated my bag of waters from my cervix…with his big football player hand…twice.  This was done in hopes that things would start to progress and I would go into labor on my own.  Because if my body doesn’t progress this week, labor will be induced early next week with medication…and we really want to avoid that.  You must have known that we meant business because at 4:30 this morning I went to the bathroom to pee for the 500th time…and out came my mucous plug.  Gross?  Yes.  Absolutely the most exciting thing that has happened to me in awhile?  OhmyGodYES! 

And since then?  I have had two whole real contractions.  TWO!  Now, I’m not going to get all excited and start calling the family yet, but this is real progress.  It could be hours, it could be days, but now I finally believe that you are really going to come out.  You’re not going to live in my body forever!  Because I was pretty much convinced that I was going to have to sit through grade school all over again so that you could learn your multiplication tables by listening through my uterus.  Also, you’re not going to make me gain any more weight and stretch out my skin until I feel like salt water taffy…you’re going to come out soon!  Keep up the good work, Sweet Girl.  I know it’s warm and cozy in there…but it is so much more out here.

(I’m not even just saying that so you’ll come out, I swear.)

Love,

Mama

