Dear Antonia,

You are my sidekick these days…it’s almost like I’m driving one of those silly motorbike scooters and you are in that tiny little sidecar attached.  Lucky for you, I look good in hats so I’m sure we wouldn’t look ridiculous in those scooter helmets (because obviously I will have passed down the good hat gene to you), no matter what people might say.  It’s so nice to have you with me everywhere I go…on my drive to work you kick along to the radio, as soon as a sit at my desk in the morning you GO CRAZY – maybe that’s when you get hungry – and so I eat breakfast and imagine you sucking it all down through your belly button (you look so cute in my imagination slurping away, hugging the umbilical cord like it’s THE BEST TREAT EVER).  When I make my way up to the third floor of the apartment building at night, I swear you lean on my bladder just to see if you can make me pee my pants, and I just want to tell you that I WIN!  So far, I have made it to the bathroom every time.  But you’re getting better at that game…

After dinner, I lie on the couch and read a book or watch tv and wait…because like clockwork, you go at it again and dance away to music I can’t hear.  The past few nights when I come back to bed after going to the bathroom (again), you start your acrobatics one last time…and if Daddy’s home and in bed with me, I grab his hand so that he can feel you.  The other night, he fell asleep to the rhythm of your steps, and it was one of the happiest moments of my life…being able to experience my little family all wrapped up in a space no larger than a basketball.  And then he started to snore… and the moment was over.  I told him to SHUT IT AND ROLL OVER…but don’t worry, we’ll try to be nicer when you get here.  I’ll just push him over instead and he’ll tell me NO PROBLEM…anything to get away from my MIDDLE-OF-THE-NIGHT-BREATH.  We love each other so much that we can do these things to each other and it’s ok, you’ll learn this soon after you get here, pretty much immediately in fact.

I find myself rubbing my belly all the time now because you’re either moving or growing or both and sometimes it feels so HEAVY, and sometimes it feels so WEIRD, and always it feels so WONDERFUL

You’re going to be here in less than three months, and while I can’t wait to see you, I love being able to feel you near me all the time.  It’s going to be quite an adjustment having to share each other after being so intertwined, but I promise…you’ll like the other ones waiting to love you.  And I’ll never be too far away from you whenever you need me. 

Love,

Mama

(found this on the internet, and it made me laugh…but just for the record, I don’t think you are going to look like an old-man-pinocchio.  Also, Daddy doesn’t have blond hair…in fact, he doesn’t have any hair so don’t be shocked when you see him…and it’s probably best not to mention it to him right away, he’s a little sensitive.)

