It’s been over a week now since my grandma passed away, and the sadness is still fresh.  I know everyone loses their grandparents at some point, but it doesn’t make it any easier.  Especially when I look at my mom and I sit and think about how my grandma was her mom…she was her safety net, her refuge, her everything.  And someday it is all going to happen again.  I know it’s life and this is how it works, but it sneaks up on you and steals your breath.

I wrote about Grandma here and here, and I wish more people could have known her.  But I just can’t help but think that the people who know my mother and the people who know me and the people who will know my daughter…will know just enough.

She told me that I am going to have a little girl with dark hair and dark eyes…a little gypsy girl.   I can’t wait to see if she was right.

