steelyard drive exit 3

My commute to work consists of driving on auto-pilot , and sometimes when I get to the office and finally sit down at my desk after clocking in, using the restroom, and making my morning tea…I think to myself, “how the hell did I get here today?  I don’t remember one thing about the drive in!”

On the morning I took this photo, I must have slept at least ten hours, because I was well-rested enough to be present during the trip downtown.  I had my camera with me, and decided as I drove down Steelyard Drive that I would look for something interesting to photograph.  On a normal day, there isn’t much to see, but I thought I might find an interesting run-down building, or maybe some  hot construction workers candid people shots, but instead I was offered graffiti…and not just some unimpressive gang symbols or unfinished works of boredom…it spoke to me.

I know you’re thinking, “Okay, Nikol.  The graffiti spoke to you?”  And now you are rolling your eyes and taking mental notes to not let me near your loved ones.  But this one word, “EXIT” reminds me that everything is a choice.  I have the choice to be present in my day, in my life, in other people’s lives…or I can exit inwards and shut down.

On the flip side, the word “EXIT” is painted on the side of a train…which makes me think of the power of the imagination.  At any moment on any given day, I have the power to exit my life and travel to anywhere I want to go.  I think some days…this exit from reality saves my life.

I just really like this word…and so I took its picture.

