Whenever I watch home makeover shows, I am always jealous of the transformations of the bedrooms.  The hosts always talk about “a refuge”, a “place to call your own”, “somewhere to recharge your batteries”…and I sit there thinking I NEED A PLACE LIKE THAT!  So…I made one.

My parents bought me bedroom furniture back in 2000 from an older couple who were selling their home.  It is quality furniture, which is hard to find these days, but it needed a little updating:

bdrm furniture BEFORE

bedroom chest BEFORE

I contemplated bedroom colors for over a year.  I’m not kidding.  I went from grey to blue to purple to black and white, to green to golds….I just wanted something to smack me in the face and say, “THIS IS IT!”.  Instead, I found this duvet cover and decided that I needed to have it in “sea spray”.  Maybe I just liked the name of the color…it made me think of being on vacation in a tropical paradise near the ocean with the sun warming me up.  It also made me think of whales and their blow holes making that PPSHHHH noise when they spray, but whatever.  And so I worked the entire bedroom around this.  As luck would have it, I have since discovered that I have a painting that ties it all together…it’s a painting that I bought almost THREE YEARS AGO that has been sitting on the back of the toilet just waiting for me to do something with it.  I am consistently amazed at how things just fell into place with this move.  Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of said painting, but take my word for it…it’s perfect.

Here is our bedroom with…you guessed it!  WHITE WALLS:

bedroom BEFORE

I decided on a cement grey color for the walls, and just like yesterday, my pictures do not do this room or the colors justice.  I need to make friends with someone who owns a professional  camera…and also someone who knows how to use it.  And then I need them to take pictures during the day instead of at 11:00 at night.  Because I can’t do any of these things.

Anyway, with my wall decision being cement grey, I was sure that I wanted the furniture to pop.  I chose to paint it antique white.  I changed the hardware to a bronze color to match the mirror I would hang above the dresser.  The mirror was a TJ Maxx find for $19.99 and used to be hanging in our powder room.  I’m all about recycling pieces…

My mom came to the rescue, once again, to help me do some refinishing.  Here are some photos of the bedroom furniture in transition:

furniture revamp

furniture drawers

Once the walls were painted and the furniture was in, the new sheets and duvet were on the bed…I decided that my accent color was clearly going to be a deep purple.  I found some flowers and some candles, some pillows and a piece of artwork for the wall:

candle

dresser

pillows

I finally have a place to go to relax, escape, and recharge…

bedroom

bedroom3

bedroom2

…I suppose I will share it with Tony.

