Falling into the role of mother comes pretty natural to me, even though we have yet to breed children.  I don’t necessarily view Tony as a child or treat him as such, but sometimes I think he wants me to.  Actually, I am certain that he does.  Who wouldn’t love being taken care of…having someone do the shopping, cooking, cleaning, appointment making, etc.  The only problem is that I don’t do any of these things anymore even though it is in my nature to do them.  In fact, I like doing them…when I am home more than the 6-7 hours I am sleeping.  But Tony, he is hard-wired to be an eternal boy, and yesterday he called me to ask if his friend could come over to play…and sleep over.  And while my first reaction was, “Oh my God, our house is a mess, we can’t have a house guest!”, what I told him instead was, “Sure, Honey.  You guys can even stay up late and play video games.” 

And that is exactly what they did.

This morning when I woke up I was greeted with their dirty cereal bowls and wrappers and as I was cleaning up, I thought to myself, “My future children are going to think I am so cool.”  That is, until they realize that the price to pay for being slobs is paying for Mommy’s pedicures.  Because that is exactly what their daddy is going to have to do…

