I don’t write about politics often, mostly because there is so much I don’t know and so much patience that I don’t have for other people’s opinions being packed down my throat.  I also try really hard to not be that opinionated asshole packing the throats.  So all I will say is this:

 

I am not a Democrat and I am not a Republican.  I am an American.  I voted, and have voted in the past, for the candidate that makes the most sense; the most sense to me, my little world, my family, my world views, my beliefs, my values.  This election proved to be difficult because I wasn’t sure that I even wanted to vote.  The candidate that I voted for had SO MANY of the things I wanted in a president, but was lacking in one very important thing.  And this one thing prevented me from knowing if I would indeed vote for him when November 4th rolled around.  But when I was presented with the bubbles and the black pen, I did not hesitate when I filled in the bubble next to Barack Obama.

 

I know I didn’t need to tell you who I voted for, but I have nothing to be ashamed of.  I also don’t need to tell you why I voted for him or what my internal struggles were that may have prevented me from doing so.  What I DO need to tell you is that I am proud of us.  I am proud that as a nation we have FINALLY overcome racial prejudices and looked at a man as a man and not a color.  We have chosen someone for our nation’s president based on what he is capable of as a leader.  I know that we still have a long way to go…cities like my own are still full of hate and discrimination.  But I’m proud anyway…because it’s a start.

 

I realize that not everyone is happy with the outcome of yesterday’s election, but all I can say to that is that someone has to be the winner and someone has to be the loser.  Isn’t that how it goes?  What matters is where we go from here and how we work together to help this nation reach it’s fullest potential.  Afterall, it’s not one man that makes a nation great, it’s the nation that makes the nation great.  And as a nation, we have chosen one man to represent us.

 

obama

