Last night I completed my first Test-Out of the program.  Basically, we have to test out of a skill before we can do it on a real patient, and if we fail the test out we have two more times to test and then we’re out of the program.  The early skills are fairly simple, but I hear they get more difficult as time goes on.  My skill last night was to test out of restraints, and I passed.  Whew!  Next week we will be tested on removing a foley catheter and emptying a catheter bag.  Fun.

I also learned how to assess vital signs this week, so I’ve been taking blood pressures like a mad woman.  I brought my blood pressure cuff and stethoscope to work yesterday and made my coworkers cooperate with me.  I’ve taken Tony’s a few times to see if the results are correct…and he has borderline high blood pressure.  I lectured him on his diet this morning.  I don’t think he wants me to be a nurse anymore.

P.S.  I thought I found THE wedding dress, and so I ordered it, only to find out that they don’t make it anymore.  Back to the drawing board…

P.P.S.  I have not forgotten that today is 9/11, but I just don’t have any words.

