Last night in skills lab we learned how to use restraints.  Let me start by saying I was never a girl scout so when people are talking about overhand knots and half-hitch knots and sheet knots and zippity-doo-dah knots (I totally made that last one up)…they might as well be talking about singing pancakes because I am LOST.  With the exception of the forever classic double knot, I am knot an expert (hehehe).  Yes, I’m corny today. 

Anyway, we learned last night how to tie slipknots when securing restraints so that the patient can be released quickly in emergency situations, and let me tell you…slipknots are COOL!  So don’t be surprised if over the next few months, I am writing posts about how I am tying Tony up all over the house.  If you see him tied to the garage door, just leave him there…chances are he just pissed me off one too many times.  You can stay and watch him go up and down if you want…I might even let you press the button.

Tonight I am in the skills lab practicing for my first test-out next week.  For those of you who don’t know, every week I will have to test-out of the skill I learned the previous week.  If I do it right, great.  If not, I have up to 3 chances to get it right or I’m dropped from the program.  The skills will get progressively harder, so I am just focusing on each week as it comes.  At the end, we will have a cumulative test on all the skills learned for the semester before we can move on.  To be honest, this is my favorite part.  I have been in school so long, that I am sick to death of reading chapters, taking notes, and filling in little circles on scantron sheets.  I am so excited to actually DO THE SKILLS and to be tested on things I’ll be doing in the real world.  I realize that there are many chapters to read and notes to take before I graduate, but at least I have a few breadcrumbs to nibble on until I get there.

