So many people have mentioned to Tony and I that waiting until 2010 for our wedding is stupid.  I will admit, there are moments when I wish we could do it tomorrow.  But overall, I am happy with our choice.  This week I have been doing a lot of brainstorming, and I am having so much fun planning the wedding weekend!  I am undoubtedly creating mucho work for myself (and my family and bridesmaids!), but in the end I think it’s going to really come together as something unique and creative and an absolute reflection of Tony and me.  I love being able to take my time and really think about choices and options, and I am lucky to have over two years to utilize my creativity and do a lot of the things myself.  I am living in the moment and really taking the time to appreciate every single piece as it comes together.  And it is so fun.

Not so fun?  Having to cut people out.  We want to keep the reception small, so there will be many people not invited, which is hard when there are over 100 people in just my side of the family.  Where do our friends come in?  Who gets invited?  Who doesn’t?  The one sure way to keep the numbers down is to not invite kids.  Now I’ve worked with families for a long time as a nanny and I know how parents can be when it comes to their kids.  They feel absolutely wounded that people would not want to be around their little cherubs, or in other cases, mature and perfectly delightful teenagers.  But in our case, it’s not about disliking the children, it’s more about our budget and the vision of an adult atmosphere.  In some instances one sibling may be invited and one may not, or new moms will declare, “he/she is six months old, you don’t have to buy another plate!”…and I will reply, “I’m sorry, but it is an adult reception, and six months does not an adult make.  No one else is crawling around the dance floor except maybe my drunk groomsman over there, and do you really want your child to be around this debauchery?”  And so we hope that parents will understand.  Of course, if you are a product of DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince, you already know the outcome of this situation.

It is stresssssfullllll, and I feel torn at times, but then I get over it. 

Also?  I need help.  I love color, and I am having a very difficult time choosing my colors for the wedding.  So, I thought I’d take a poll.  Remember, this is an October wedding…I’m going for a modern, urban feel.  Let me know what you think!

 

1.  Tiffany Blue and Red

I’m not sure if I like the idea of Tiffany Blue dresses…it would depend on the dress…but in October?  Also, this picture is ONLY to visualize the two colors together…the guests will not be receiving whatever this is as a favor (what is it?).

Oh, Here…this is better…

Although, this looks more aqua…anyway, you get the point…

2.   Red and Green

I REALLY like this, but I’m not sure if I could make this bouquet out of fake flowers…don’t think I won’t try!!

3.  Champagne and Red

I ADORE these flowers.  But I really want two colors that pop, and champagne is not such a color.

4.  Brown and Red

I heart this…it is so warm and fall-y.  But I need to find a way to keep it from becoming too “country”, bails of hay, pumpkins and fall leaves.  I LOVE THOSE THINGS…but not for this.  This?  Is elegant.

 

As you can see…red is in for sure.  I have also considered black bridesmaid dresses, incorporating two accent colors into the details.  But I feel like everyone does black…it is classic, though…hmmm…

 

HELP!

 

Connie!  She thought of another color combo because, apparantly, I need more choices!

5.  Purple and Green

I must tell you, though, that purple is Nan’s color…so I don’t think I should steal it.

