Tags

It’s no secret that I struggled through this last semester.  The motivation was lacking, and all I really wanted to do was anything other than study.  The story of my life is this:  She could have gotten A’s but she didn’t apply herself.  I wanted to watch movies with Tony, and I wanted to spend time with my family, and I only really started pushing myself towards the end.  And I wonder if this last semester I really would have been better off pushing myself just a bit harder and denying myself just a bit more.  Because I ended up being average.  Average.  It’s so uninspiring.  “How was your date last night?”  “Oh, it was average.”  …nothing special, nothing to write home about…just mediocre.  Anyway, the grades were posted today and two C’s, that’s what I ended up with. (Anatomy II and Microbiology) 

But even though I know that I could have gotten B’s, if not A’s, if I would have “applied myself”, I can’t help but feel grateful for those movie nights.  I think there is something to be said for middle of the road.  After all, don’t you wonder what those above-average people are giving up to stay all the way up there at the top of that ladder?  I’m not saying it’s an excuse to perform poorly.  I’m just saying I don’t mind the C’s this time.

I’ll have 15 months to scurry up rungs.  In the meantime, I’m praying for an acceptance letter.

