Yesterday an opportunity fell into my lap to volunteer in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU).  I don’t know if I mentioned it here before, but after graduation I will be focusing my attention in pediatrics .  Hopefully, I will earn my master’s degree and become both a licensed pediatric and neonatal nurse practitioner. 

So…as you can imagine, I am SO EXCITED to have the opportunity to do this…to observe the inner workings, to let them know that I am a nursing student and willing to learn whatever they have the time to show me, and to HOLD AND ROCK THE BABIES!  This last part is what the volunteer position is actually for.  For about 3 hours, once a week, I will hold and rock babies in NICU.  I don’t know who will benefit more, the babies or me.

Orientation is next week and I can’t wait! 🙂

