For the past two days I have been S-I-C-K. Not just a sniffle here and a cough there, but a I-can’t-get-my-ass-off-this-couch-even-if-Brad-Pitt-is-standing-over-me-naked-sick. Yesterday, I forced myself to shower and get outside for a couple hours, but it wore me out and I ended up sleeping on the couch, yet again, for most of the day.

Today I am back at work and wishing I weren’t. The weather is supposed to plummet this evening and I covet the lives of people who get to stay at home all day and cuddle under blankets with their babies.

Speaking of which, Tony and I adopted a kitten (still without pictures, but will provide ASAP). Tony was against it (the understatement of the year), and now they are BFF’s and he is constantly saying, “Niki, look! Look at her! Look at what she’s doing! Did you see that?” or directed towards the thing he insists he was destined to hate, “You are so cute. Look at that face. Did you miss Daddy?”

And he questions whether or not he is meant to be a father…

She is the most attentive cat I’ve ever met, and she is not satisfied unless she is curled up on one of our laps, or our necks, or UP MY ASS! We’ve developed a routine that consists of play time, meal time and nap time, and it all happens between 5am and 7:30am.

This morning at 6:45am, her play time was a track and field event complete with running laps around the first floor, hurdling obstacles, and sliding into the bathroom wall. I initially ignored the “MEEEOOOOOWWWW!”, but then when she didn’t reappear, I went looking for her and found her with the front half of her body submerged in the toilet bowl.

I suppose, this is a preview of what we have to look forward to when we finally do start popping out the brats, as I have heard on more than one occassion the story about me playing in the toilet and, consequently, walking around with a blue face from the cleanser/freshener. Luckily, I do not use this particular brand in the toilet, so we do not have a blue cat today.

