It is exactly two weeks before I begin my adventure into my new career. Today I have to go to the bookstore to spend hundreds of dollars on books. It is amazing how the acidic bile rises from my stomach at the thought of how awesome that’s not going to be. But I just keep focusing on how I’m going to feel next year at this time when I’m buying books for my actual nursing classes. What an eye opener it is when I reflect on the thousands of dollars I have spent on a college degree and I only learned a fraction of one quarter of what’s out there to learn. I mean, I took A LOT of classes, especially because I changed my major three times! And I still don’t have credit for the biology and math prerequisites for nursing. Hence the reason why it will be a year before I can actually beginning the nursing classes for real.

In the meantime, I’m hoping to learn a lot about anatomy and algebra. (There is a joke in there somewhere, I know it, but I can’t get to it fast enough, and Tony’s not here to pick up my slack.) I’m excited to exercise my brain, regardless, and the thought of learning something other than English and Literature is so invigorating in a way I never thought it could be. I’m really looking forward to stretching my limits, yet so not looking forward to stretching my budget.

Also? I’m freaking out a little bit. I have two weeks to get completely moved out of my apartment, two weeks before my cousin’s wedding which means two weeks to lose 10 pounds, and in two weeks I will officially be co-habitating with someone…officially, I said! Not to mention I start school full-time on top of my full-time job…in two weeks. It’s obvious that I’m a super girl genius and excel in the face of conquering the world, isn’t it? Isn’t IT?! I’m kind of a huge ball of stressed out. Two days ago was the first day that Tony saw me cry for no reason at all, and I wonder if he was thinking how he can’t wait to spend his life with the fruit loop standing in front of him. I mean, who wouldn’t want to wake up every morning to a manic-depressive, financially-challenged, Chunk-carrier? And it TOTALLY doesn’t matter that the house is torn apart and there are no floors and no walls and I spend all my extra time cleaning and stripping wallpaper and organizing and purging garbage from closets and corners and consequently am continuously faced with the life that my boyfriend used to have. I mean, hey! It’s fun! It’s actually even therapeutic! Really, I kind of like it. I would like it even more if someone took a scalpel to my RETINA!

In all honesty, I would much rather have all of this than just a year ago when I had none of it. It’s all about perspective, I think…and transition. I’ve been the new girl enough times to know that to be uncomfortable is the catalyst to growth. So here I go…

