There is a yellow wash bucket waiting patiently to be filled with vibrant summer flowers in front of the house. It’s been empty since last month when I finally unloaded it from my truck after carting it around with me like an extension of my being because, well, I wasn’t quite sure where I was going to be living. I liked to have it near me just in case I decided to pitch a tent and nest in the cul-de-sac of my parents’ subdivision, or in the mall parking lot. At least I would have landscaping. I decided, instead, to unload it at Tony’s, where I have unloaded all my belongings along with my baggage and my heart. And now it sits waiting to be filled with flowers to serve its purpose in making his house our home.

Because I want to be proactive in this effort, I bought several plants and a shepherd’s hook and even a birdfeeder to liven up the walkway that leads to the front door. I want people to feel welcomed, like the flower pots are inviting them to come a little closer and be friends with the people who live on the other side of the front door. So far, I think it is working pretty well. We’ve engaged in conversations with the neighbors, and my family has visited several times, but there are a few guests in particular who are in danger of wearing out their welcome.

It seemed like a good idea at first. I love to hear them singing in the morning, and watching them through the window always lifts my spirits a bit. So I bought some extra food for them to eat when they come over and made it accessible for them.

They are greedy little bastards.

I filled the birdfeeder with seed on Sunday. It is almost empty and it is only Thursday. The yellow bucket that had been saving itself for the flowers has been violated by seed shells and picked over seeds that the birds evidently “don’t care for”. Tony has had quite enough, and I was a bit surprised by his interest in the matter when he said,

“Those damn birds are wasteful! Did you see the bucket full of seeds? I am going to dump them back in the feeder so the birds have to eat them. They need to be taught how to be a little more efficient!”

I’m not telling him that I threw away half of my lunch yesterday for fear that he might dig it out of the garbage and make me eat it.

