I was reading an article today in Writer’s Digest by Jodi Picoult, and she was talking about the research that she did for her novel, Second Glance (which was very good, by the way). She was saying how at the beginning of her research she was skeptical of everything paranormal, yet as her investigations went on, she became aware of some things that made her question her original convictions.

At one point, she visited a family’s home. The parents were convinced that it was haunted and told her stories of how the childrens’ toys would play by themselves or the milk would fall over and spill on the kitchen table without anyone moving it. Before they had explained this, Jodi had been in the childrens’ rooms looking around. They were asleep in their cribs, and when she looked in their rooms she noted that the floors were very bare for childrens’ rooms. After the parents told her the story of the toys playing by themselves, she returned to the rooms and on the floor were six pennies dated between 1968 and 1973 on the floor of each of the two rooms near the cribs.

At the end of the article she writes, “all I’m going to say is I still have the pennies. And if you look in your purse or pocket right now you’ll be hard-pressed to find a single penny dated between 1968 and 1973”.

So of course, I emptied the pennies in my wallet out onto my desk. I have 51 pennies…three of them are dated 1968, and two are dated 1972. Five out of 51 are dated between 1968 and 1973. I don’t know what that means, exactly, but I just thought you should know that it is 4:49pm and I just emptied my wallet out onto my desk at work because some author in a magazine article told me I probably didn’t have a penny dated between blah and blah, and now I’m telling you that I do.

It’s kind of like those emails that you read: “It is impossible to kiss the tip of your elbow”, and then 99.9% of people are sitting at their desks flapping their elbows around when the boss walks by and reflects on his lack of judgment in all things HR.

Please excuse me while I check the bottom of my purse for some more pennies…

