Last night I got a phone call asking me if I would be interested in teaching Serbian dance. To preface this, I must tell you that I have been dancing since I could walk, and the one thing that managed to pass through the gene pool from my mother to me is the need to move my body to music when I hear it. If we attend an event together and you can’t find us at any point in the evening, we can usually be found on the dance floor.

I start Friday evening teaching the preschoolers and I am very excited about it! If things work out, I might gain the 1st thru 5th graders as well. It’s so strange to me how something that is learned can feel like it is ingrained in your genetic makeup, like even if I was never taught the steps I might know them anyway. To attempt to give this gift to a new generation is an indescribable feeling.

Most of my family grew up playing Serbian instruments, and while I am learning to play as well…and enjoying it immensely…I will not hesitate to put the instrument down to dance. Feeling the bass pounding the rhythm in your chest and moving your feet to the space in between the beats is like flying. And you all know how much I would love to be able to do that.

So anyway…this is how I will be spending my Friday nights and some weekends when there are performances. I’m looking forward to the stories that are bound to surface…kids are good for that. Especially ones that may or may not speak English.

