Every day this week has felt like a Friday to me, and every day this week I have had to stop myself and say, “No, Nikol. It’s not Friday yet.” Well, today is Friday, and I. Am. So. Glad.

Wanna know why?

Because the annual “I’m-the-Beer-Cart-Girl” weekend is here!! My friends are in from out of town, I’m having houseguests, and the weather is all crisp and fall-like and it makes me happy!

SO I have to tell you…when I was growing up (and even now, although I don’t live there to bear the torture), my mother thought it most productive to clean the house at 6 o’clock in the morning. We often awoke to the sound of the vacuum cleaner on a SATURDAY MORNING. I wanted to strangle were with the electrical cord.

People always tell me, the older I get, the more I will become like my mother, and I’ve always welcomed this transition in myself. I would imagine the awesomeness that is her waistline and her soft skin, her cute little nose and…oh wait…these things will not change. Shit.

So this is how I am like my mother at age 28…I woke up at 5:30 this morning, folded my clothes that were in the dryer overnight, vacuumed the entire apartment and washed dishes…all before 6am. The only difference between my mother and me is that she does it to fulfill some obsessive-compulsive, anal-retentive need, and I do it because company is coming.

Allow me to leave you with this piece of imagery:

I was walking down Euclid Avenue this morning watching a crane move over the new construction that is to become the Cleveland Clinic’s new Heart Center. The workers attached a portable bathroom to the crane and proceeded to lift it to the top floor, and I swear to you, God wanted to let this happen but refused to indulge me because I found myself praying that it would somehow fall and the contents would spill all over the place and wouldn’t that be so funny?!

There is something wrong with me.

