So I had to go through the McDonald’s drive-thru for a fountain pop. I had to. My mouth was dry, I had just woken up from a nap, and I was so thirsty I would have licked the condensation off of Mr.Darcy if there had been any.

When I pulled into the plaza, I was surprised to see so many people out…and then I realized why they were all there. A car show.

I don’t understand the purpose of a car show. I mean, I’m all for sitting around in fold-up camping chairs pulling a Cold One out of the cooler and relaxing under the sun. But what is so great about looking under the hoods of random cars? And I used to think it was a guy thing, but I stood corrected when I noticed a lot of women at this thing! It’s a real family affair. “C’mon, Honey, I know this here race car is only a two-seater, but we’ll just tie this cooler to the bumper with a bungee cord and let Junior ride along inside it. It will be like Cedar Point, but without the admission prices and long lines.”

Anyway, I fully support the alcoholic beverage consumption on a summer day, and I just might have to do a little of it myself tonight. In fact, Nan just called me and I think it’s time to break out the big eyes, big hair, big ass combo (what I affectionatley like to call the Big 3) and take myself out on the town. I feel like flirting, and what better time to do it than a warm summer evening with no one to hold me back.

Speaking of no one to hold me back, my old boss (she was only my boss for the past month, and now I’ve been transferred to a different department) is trying to fix me up with a scientist or something. They threw a going away lunch for me friday, and she asked if I was dating anyone and I told her no. She found out that we know some of the same people, and he have similar religious/ethnic backgrounds, and now she has taken it upon herself to find me a permanent job and a husband. She went to a meeting and told all the executives in the meeting that if they have openings in their departments that they should hire me because I’m awesome. I tell ya, this woman is a firecracker, and now my dating future is in her hands. She called her husband, told him to call the guy and that the four of us are going to go to lunch next week. I can only assume that she’s kidding, and if she’s not I will have to be conveniently busy. I mean, the guy is a scientist for crying out loud! What the hell do I have in common with a scientist? Besides the fact that we’re both human beings…nothing. And what kind of 25 year-old has a Ph.D?!Although, I hear he’s cute…

