My Mom called me at 1:30 this morning. The only time my parents call me in the middle of the night is to tell me someone died or my dad had a heart attack or something equally terrible. So when I answered, I said, “shit shit SHIT…please God NO” in my brain. But to my mom, I said, “hello?”
“Nik?”
“yeah.”
“Are you okay?”
“Uhhh….yeah. What’s wrong?”

Apparently, my mother had a dream and it woke her up because a voice yelled to her very deliberately, “your daughter is in danger.” She said she had to call me because if she didn’t, and something happened to me she would never be able to forgive herself.

“I’m fine. I’m just sleeping.”

Of course, after she hung up, I laid in my bed, wide awake, thinking something terrible was going to happen to me. Did I relight the pilot light in the stove today? Is my door locked so the drunk neighbors can’t get in? Is somebody going to shoot me through my bedroom window? Am I going to get in a car accident tomorrow? I take these signs so seriously, and NOW I’m just waiting for the end to draw near. Thanks, Mom.

Changing the subject…

On the way to work this morning, the trees were talking to me…sort of. I don’t know why, but I couldn’t drive to work in my usual daze because the trees kept catching my attention. It’s almost like without their leaves they are personified. They were reaching their arms out to me and it seemed like some wanted to shake my hand or some wanted to keep me back, push me, guard me. But mostly it just seemed like they were talking to me…having a conversation with me as I drove, each tree continuing the sentence from the tree before it. I know this sounds weird, like I think I’m in “The Wizard of Oz” or Shel Silverstein’s “The Giving Tree”, but the way the branches were blowing toward me, and reaching out today, had me wondering what they were trying to say. Maybe they just wanted to say, “Good Morning”…but somehow I think if a tree is going to talk to you, it has something more profound to say than that.

