Neighbor Bob’s family has been in town since Friday, and they aren’t going back to TN until SUNDAY!! I’m still trying to figure out how they are all fitting in that tiny apt, but maybe they’re fans of Alan Jackson’s country song, “Little Bitty”:

“Have a little love on a little honeymoon
You got a little dish and you got a little spoon
A little bitty house and a little bitty yard
A little bitty dog and a little bitty car
Well, it’s alright to be little bitty
A little hometown on a big old city
Might as well share, might as well smile
Life goes on for a little bitty while”
When I think about it this way, it’s all kind of sweet, and I’m not so annoyed that all 10 of them brought their 2 cars that they park in my driveway and I am forced to park on the street. I feel sad for NB because he never gets to see his family, and he has to spend the rest of the year with his wife and her daughter who make him drink and cry. In all honesty, I’ve actually been enjoying the living situation lately! Every morning I come down my stairs to walk to my car, and Neighbor Bob’s door is open and I can smell their breakfast cooking. I yell, “Mornin’!” and then they say, “Mornin’!” and I feel like I’m camping or something…when everybody comes out of their tents and trailers and cooks breakfast at the same time. It’s friendly. It’s “a little hometown on a big ole city”.
AND THEN
…I met a new neighbor. I don’t remember his name (surprise), but he yelled from across the street the other morning, “Who are you?”
So I yelled back, “Who are you?”
“I’m _____. Do you live here?”
“Yeah, I just moved in.” Why am I screaming across the street like a hillbilly?
You live here.”
“Yes.”
“Wow. You are BEAUTIFUL! Are you single?”
“Thank you. Yes, I’m single.” I shouldn’t have said that. I don’t have my glasses on, and from way over here I can’t see if this guy has teeth.
“Well, I’m going to take you out sometime. You are absolutely beautiful.”
“Thanks. It was nice meeting you.” Exit stage left QUICKLY, lock the door.
I love my neighbors. Never a dull moment.
