My new show even though I don’t have cable. We’re starting a love/hate relationship.

I held my parents’ TV hostage from 10-11pm last night so I could watch the very first episode. This guy (the “Super-size Me” guy) has intrigued me. He spent 30 days living in Columbus on minimum wage to see what it’s like to be a typical American poor person. I just want to say, thank you so much for living in our shoes for 30 days. Thank you for coming down from your Manhattan loft long enough to ride the public transportation with the little people. Seriously, I think it is really great that you’ve brought the health care and poverty problems to our country’s attention, but at the same time…some of us live it EVERY DAY. I suppose if the right people watched your program last night, there is a small window of opportunity for change…but more than likely, Cleveland, Columbus and Toledo will remain among the poorest cities in the country. And Neighbor Bob will still have 6 people living in a 1 bedroom apartment, and have no money for a bus pass or dentures. My feelings are a jumbled mess after watching your show…I appreciate you taking the time to look, but at the same time, I resent the fact that you can leave to go back to your high rise. I feel like you’ve been peeping through a hole in a shoebox filled with glimpses of hardships that you are free to walk away from at any time. As you discovered last night, it isn’t about being stupid or lazy or a minority…educated, articulate minorities AND majorities are living pay to pay, and barely making ends meet. I don’t know what my point is. I only know that it’s been longer than 30 days here in Cleveland.

